Thursday, August 30, 2007

KUTING Induction of New Members

Group photo from the induction of new members last August 26, 2007, Sunday at A Different Bookstore, Serendra.

Seated (L-R) Raisa Rivera-Falgui; Ace Elgar (KUTING VP); Zarah Gagatiga (KUTING President) and Becky Bravo (KUTING Treasurer). Standing (L-R) Astrid Tobias; Lalaine Aquino; Dr. Luis Gatmatian (TOYM Awardee and Palanca Hal of Famer); Don Gonzalez; Robin Rivero; Cynthia Villafranca; Eline Santos; Tin Paita and Carla Pacis (founding member and 1st President). Photo courtesy of Chito Bauzon of A Different Bookstore.

Saturday, August 25, 2007

Induction of New Members 2007

After months of general assemblies, meetings, mini-worshops, activties, a fund raising project and a writing workshop, seven new members will be inducted to the Kuwentista ng mga Tsikiting tomorrow. Dr. Luis Gatmaitan will share an inspirational message to the new members. See you there!

Induction of New KUTING Members
August 26, 2007 at 2PM to 4PM
A Different Bookstore, Serendra
High Street, The Fort Global City
Taguig City

Wednesday, August 22, 2007

The 33d National Writers Congress

The Unyon ng mga Manunulat sa Pilipinas (UMPIL) would like to invite writers and lovers of literature in its 33rd National Writers Congress to be held at the Pulungang Recto, College of Arts and Letters Faculty Center , University of the Philippines , Diliman, Quezon City on August 25 from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm. With the theme “Literature and Writers’ Welfare,” Senator Francis Pangilinan will speak about his legislative vision for literature. Other agenda are recent developments in intellectual property rights, and the model for a collective management group responsible for collecting royalties. Four noted writers will also receive the prestigious Gawad Pambansang Alagad.
A general election of the new set of UMPIL Board of Directors will be held afterwards. For inquiries, please call Vim or Joey at nos. 922-1830.

Wednesday, August 15, 2007

2007 PBBY Salanga Prize

For those interested to join the Salanga, please follow this link to the The 2007 Salanga Prize .

Happy writing!

National Book Awards 2006

Congratulations to Becky Bravo and Astrid Tobias! Both are finalist for the National Book Award 2006, Children's Literature Category. Kudos to Carla Pacis as well for recieveing a citation for her work on "Juan Luna: Patriot & Painter", an Ayala Foundation Book Project.